Seminars & Colloquia

Condensed Matter Seminar
Tue, Sep 8 11:30am Measuring the Intracellular Dew Point: Phase Transitions in Cells
Cliff Brangwynne, Princeton University
Thu, Sep 17 11:20am Valleytronics in two-dimensional Dirac materials
Di Xiao, Dept. of Physics, Carnegie Mellon University
Thu, Sep 24 11:20am Do entangled polymers possess a shear banding instability?
Peter Olmsted, Department of Physics, Georgetown University
Thu, Oct 1 11:20am Controlling DNA translocation through nanopores
Ulrich Keyser, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge
Thu, Oct 8 11:20am Directed Self-Assembly, Statistical Mechanics and Beyond
John Crocker, University of Pennsylvania
Thu, Oct 15 11:20am Elasticity of Random Networks and Amorphous Solids
Marija Vucelja, University of Virginia
Thu, Oct 22 11:20am The Search For Inhomogeneous Superconductivity In Organic Superconductors
Charles C. Agosta, Department of Physics, Clark University
Thu, Nov 5 11:30am Topological mechanics: linkages, kinks, and Weyl modes
Bryan Chen, UMass Amherst
Mon, Nov 9 12:15pm Chiral spin liquid with spinless cold atoms
Tigran Sedrakyan, University of Minnesota
Thu, Nov 12 11:30am Exotic Edge Phases and Edge Domain Walls in Abelian Fractional Quantum Hall States
Meng Cheng, Microsoft Research Station Q
Thu, Nov 19 11:30am Novel Dirac liquids on topological insulator surface
David Mross, Caltech
Mon, Nov 23 12:15pm Non-perturbative Results for Itinerant Ferromagnetism in Multi-orbital Systems
Yi Li, Princeton
Mon, Nov 30 12:15pm Universality far from equilibrium: from integrability to many-body localization
Romain Vasseur, UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories
Thu, Dec 3 11:30am Topological design of mechanical metamaterials
Jayson Paulose, Instituut-Lorentz, Leiden University
Mon, Dec 7 12:15pm Conservation laws and many-body localization
Anushya Chandran, Perimeter Institute
Departmental Colloquium
Wed, Sep 9 4:00pm Statistics of Basketball Scoring and Lead Changes
Sid Redner, Santa Fe Institute
Wed, Sep 16 4:00pm Neutrino oscillations, the rare earth peak, and the site of the r-process
Gail McLaughlin, NC State University
Wed, Oct 7 4:00pm In Pursuit of Dark Matter: Recent Results from the SuperCDMS Experiment
Jodi Cooley, Southern Methodist University
Fri, Oct 30 12:30pm Network Science: From Structure to Control
Albert-László Barabasi, Northeastern University
Wed, Nov 4 4:00pm Exciting New Approaches to Scattering Amplitudes
Henriette Elvang, University of Michigan
Wed, Nov 18 4:00pm Quantifying collective transport in live active matter
Maria Kilfoil, UMass Amherst
Wed, Dec 2 4:00pm Astromaterial Science and Nuclear Pasta
Charles Horowitz, Indiana University
Wed, Dec 9 4:00pm TBA
Bradley Filippone, Caltech
ACFI Seminar
Fri, Sep 25 2:15pm Search for Higgs Bosons produced in association with top quarks with the ATLAS detector
Vivek Jain, SUNY Albany
Tue, Sep 29 2:30pm D-brane gauge fields
Ian McArthur, University of Western Australia
Tue, Oct 13 2:30pm Vacuum Energy Sequestering
David Stefanyszyn, University of Nottingham
Fri, Oct 16 2:30pm Dark Matter Detections in Photons Split by a Million in Energy: Interpretations of X-ray lines and Gamma-ray Bumps
Kevork Abazajian, UC Irvine
Fri, Oct 23 2:30pm Search for new physics in the low MET monophoton channel with the CMS Detector
Toyoko Orimoto, Northeastern University
Tue, Oct 27 2:30pm Black Rings in Supergravity
Zhibai Zhang, CUNY
Tue, Nov 3 2:30pm Flooded Dark Matter and S Level Rise
Jakub Scholtz, Harvard
Tue, Nov 10 2:30pm Results from the Search for Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay of 130Te with CUORE-0
Jonathan Ouellet, MIT
Fri, Nov 20 2:30pm Natural Theories with Colorless Top Partners
Gustavo Burdman, University of Sao Paulo
Tue, Nov 24 2:30pm Addressing the LHCb anomalies with a non-universal Z'
Javier Fuentes Martin, IFIC, Valencia
Fri, Dec 4 2:30pm Calibrating the Sun: The MuSun Experiment
Robert Carey, Boston University