People

ACFI personnel include faculty, research staff, and students at UMass Amherst, affiliated faculty and researchers at other institutions (see Partners), the Director, and an Advisory Board.

Faculty

Benjamin Brau

Associate Professor

Experimental searches for new phenomena, including Hidden Valley scenarios.

LGRT 1040 413-545-0620 bbrau@physics.umass.edu
Rafael Coelho Lopes de Sa
Rafael Coelho Lopes de Sa

Assistant Professor

Experimental particle physicists studying the Higgs boson with the ATLAS detector.

LGRT-1034 (Lab - PSB 062) 413-545-0993 rclsa@umass.edu
Carlo Dallapiccola

Professor

Experimental searches at ATLAS for new, exotic phenomena and Higgs measurements.

LGRT 1038 413-545-0994 carlod@physics.umass.edu
Jordy de Vries

Assistant Professor

Theoretical nuclear and particle physics with emphasis on fundamental symmetries. We perform theoretical studies of neutrinoless double beta decay, electric dipole moments, dark matter detection, and other probes of physics beyond the Standard Model.

LGRT 418 413-545-2509 jdevries@umass.edu
John Donoghue

Distinguished Professor - Emeritus

Particle physics theory, effective field theory and quantum field theory in general, Quantum General Relativity, Field Theory approaches to quantum gravity. Anything else that I find interesting at the moment.

LGRT 1127C 413-545-2540 donoghue@physics.umass.edu
Eugene Golowich

Professor Emeritus

Theoretical High Energy Physics with an emphasis on phenomenology and fundamental symmetries.

LGRT 1127D 413.545.6331 golowich@physics.umass.edu
Ben Heidenreich

Assistant Professor

String theory, quantum gravity, non-perturbative quantum field theory, particle and string phenomenology, cosmology.

LGRT 417B 413-545-2402 bheidenreich@umass.edu
Scott Hertel

Assistant Professor

Experimental Particle Physics at Low Energies, Dark Matter and Neutrino Physics, Detector R&D.

PSB W111 413-545-1310 shertel@umass.edu
Barry Holstein

Professor Emeritus

Theoretical particle and nuclear physics, General relativity, Effective field theory.

LGRT 1127E 413-530-0795 holstein@physics.umass.edu
David Kastor

Associate Head/Senior Lecturer II

Classical and Quantum Gravity and String Theory

LGRT 421 413-545-0545 kastor@physics.umass.edu
David Kawall

Professor

Experimental particle and AMO physics. Emphasis on precision measurements of particle electric and magnetic dipole moments as tests of the Standard Model.

PSB W105 (Lab - PSB 031) 413-545-2019 kawall@physics.umass.edu
Krishna Kumar

Distinguished Gluckstern Professor

Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics, Tests of Fundamental Symmetries and Conservation Laws, Precision Tests of the Standard Model, Novel Probes of the QCD Structure of the Nucleon.

PSB W104 413-545-0763 kkumar@physics.umass.edu
Verena Martinez Outschoorn
Verena Martinez Outschoorn

Assistant Professor

Experimental particle physics, LHC, searching for new phenomena with the Higgs boson, electronics for triggers.

LGRT 1032 413-545-2444 vimartin@umass.edu
Rory Miskimen

Professor

Tests of fundamental symmetries and low-energy QCD. Experimental Nuclear Physics.

PSB W108 413-545-2480 miskimen@physics.umass.edu
Gerald Peterson

Professor Emeritus

Experimental Nuclear Physics

LGRT 417 413-545-2008 peterson@physics.umass.edu
Andrea Pocar

Assistant Professor & Assistant Director, Amherst Center for Fundamental Interactions

Experimental neutrino physicist exploring neutrino and dark matter properties.

PSB W110 (Office), PSB 021 (Lab) 413-545-2011 pocar@physics.umass.edu
Michael Ramsey-Musolf

Professor & Director, Amherst Center for Fundamental Interactions

Theoretical physics at the interface of nuclear physics, high energy physics, and cosmology: baryogenesis; physics beyond the Standard Model; fundamental symmetries; dark matter; electroweak symmetry breaking; collider phenomenology; quantum chromodynamics; effective field theories.

LGRT 416 413.545.0320 mjrm@physics.umass.edu
Lorenzo Sorbo

Professor

Theoretical physics at the interface of cosmology and physics beyond the Standard Model, with particular emphasis on inflation and its signatures in the cosmic microwave background, and on cosmological gravitational waves. Also, research in General Relativity and its possible modifications at low energies.

LGRT 417C sorbo@physics.umass.edu
Jennie Traschen

Professor

Classical and Quantum Gravity.

LGRT 425 413.545.1974 traschen@physics.umass.edu
Stephane Willocq

Professor

Experimental particle physics at the energy frontier. Search for new phenomena and measurements with the ATLAS detector at the Large Hadron Collider.

LGRT-1042 413-545-0525 willocq@physics.umass.edu

Scientists & Engineers

top
Thiago Costa de Paiva

Engineer

LGRT 932 tcpaiva@umass.edu
Tiago dos Santos Ramos

Research Scientist

PSB W219 tdossantosra@umass.edu
David Flay

postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental physics: High-precision tests of the Standard Model using muons; high-precision nuclear magnetic resonance magnetometry.

Fermilab 413-545-0586 flay@umass.edu
Jimin George

postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental Particle Physics. Working on the Muon g-2 experiment at Fermilab.

Fermilab jimingeorge@umass.edu
Martina Javurkova

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental Particle Physics, ATLAS at the LHC.

CERN Martina.Pagacova@cern.ch
Gang Li

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Physics beyond the Standard Model, collider phenomenology.

LGRT 424 ligang@umass.edu
Matteo Lotito

Research Scientist

Theoretical particle physics - superconformal field theories.

LGRT 422 413-545-0485 mlotito@umass.edu
Edward Moyse

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental Particle Physics, ATLAS at the LHC.

CERN edward.moyse@cern.ch
Nora Pattersson

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental Particle Physics, ATLAS at the LHC

CERN nora.pettersson@cern.ch
Attilio Picazio

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental Particle Physics, ATLAS at the LHC.

CERN attilio.picazio@cern.ch
Alessandro Serafin

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Dark Matter Experiment

PSB W218 413-545-0586 aserafin@umass.edu
Michal Tarka

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental particle and nuclear physics

PSB W218 413-545-0586 mtarka@umass.edu
Peter Tornambe

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Experimental particle physicists working on searches for new phenomena and muon detector development.

CERN peter.tornambe@cern.ch
Juan Carlos Vasquez Carmona

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Theoretical particle physics.

LGRT 424 (413) 545-0511 jvasquezcarm@umass.edu
Jia Zhou

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Particle Physics Phenomenology involving precision calculations for Electroweak Physics.

LGRT 422 413-545-0485 jia@umass.edu

Students

top
Dale Abbott

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 dabbott@umass.edu
Jackson Burzynski

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 jburzynski@umass.edu
Huacheng Cai

Graduate Student

CERN huacheng.cai@cern.ch
Yuan-Tang Chou

Graduate Student

CERN ychou@umass.edu
Matthew Downing

Graduate Student

HAS 135 mjdowning@umass.edu
Yong Du

Graduate Student

LGRT 426 yongdu@umass.edu
Muldrow Etheredge

Graduate Student

LGRT 340 metheredge@umass.edu
Sara Feyzbakhsh

Graduate Student

PSB W05 sara@physics.umass.edu
David Kessler

Graduate Student

LGRT 340 dskessler@umass.edu
Samyukta Krishnamurthy

Graduate Student

LGRT 1129 skrishnamurt@umass.edu
Ajit Kumar

Graduate Student

LGRT 344 ajitkumar@umass.edu
Margaret Lutz

Graduate Student

CERN mlutz@physics.umass.edu
Zachary Meadows

Graduate Student

zmeadows@physics.umass.edu
Christopher Nedlik

Graduate Student

PSB W05 cnedlik@umass.edu
Bela Nelson

Graduate Student

LGRT 928 binelson@umass.edu
Pratyush Kumar Patel

Graduate Student

HAS 123 pratyushkuma@umass.edu
Doug Pinckney

Graduate Student

HAS 205 hpinckney@umass.edu
Yue Qiu

Graduate Student

LGRT 344 yqiu@physics.umass.edu
Ali Rajabi

Graduate Student

LGRT 344 arajabi@physics.umass.edu
Michael Roberts

Graduate Student

LGRT 426 mroberts@umass.edu
Guy Rosin

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 grosin@umass.edu
Jay Sandesara

Graduate Student

LGRT 1129 jsandesara@umass.edu
Andrew Schick

Graduate Student

PSB W05 aschick@umass.edu
Poruvelil Sachin Shain

Graduate Student

LGRT 348 sshainporuve@physics.umass.edu
Tianyang (Simon) Shen

Graduate Student

LGRT 426 tianyangshen@umass.edu
Seth Thibado

Graduate Student

HAS 205 sthibado@physics.umass.edu
Jesse Underland

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 junderland@umass.edu
Sebastian Urrutia-Quiroga

Graduate Student

LGRT 426 surrutiaquir@umass.edu
Makayla Vessella

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 mvessella@umass.edu
Cooper Wagner

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 cpwagner@umass.edu
Tristan Winick

Graduate Student

LGRT 348 twinick@umass.edu
Guanghui Zhou

Graduate Student

LGRT 930 gzhou@umass.edu

Visitors

top
Photo of Professor William Loinaz
William Loinaz

Professor, Amherst College

Theoretical particle physics; neutrino physics; electroweak symmetry breaking

223 Merrill Science Center (413) 542-7968 waloinaz@amherst.edu

Advisory Board

top
Martin Beneke

Technical U. Munich

Robert Bernstein

Fermilab

Alessandra Buonanno

U. Maryland

Vincenzo Cirigliano

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Geoff Greene

U. Tennessee/Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Eva Halkiadakis

Rutgers U.

John Hardy

Texas A & M U.

Wick Haxton

U.C. Berkeley/Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Karsten Heeger

Yale U.

David Hertzog

U. Washington

JoAnne Hewett

SLAC

Scott Hughes

MIT

David Lowe

Brown U.

Robert McKeown

Jefferson Laboratory/William & Mary

Gail McLaughlin

North Carolina State U.

Larry McLerran

Institute for Nuclear Theory/U. Washington

Stefano Profumo

U.C. Santa Cruz

Kate Scholberg

Duke U.

Shufang Su

U. Arizona

Mark Wise

Caltech