Krishna Kumar to serve as Chair of APS DNP in 2020-21

Publication date: Fri, Apr 03, 2020 - 6:00pm

Professor Krishna Kumar, Gluckstern Professor of Physics at UMass Amherst, will be the new 2020 - 21 Chair of the American Physical Society's Division of Nuclear Physics starting this April. The formal transition will happen at the April meeting of the American Physical Society, and will occur online along with the rest of the now-virtual April meeting because of the worldwide Covid-19 pandemic. This marks Krishna's third year in the leadership at DNP, where he was first elected Vice-Chair in 2018, became Chair-elect in 2019, and will be past Chair in 2021 - 22.