• immagine_2.jpeg

    Borexino Solar Neutrino Detector

    The Borexino prototype detector (CTF) shown here, a 4-ton spherical scintillator target surrounded by ultra-pure water and 100 photomultiplier tubes, operated between 1994 and 2003. The tubes detect flashes of light from ionizing radiation (including neutrinos) occurring in the scintillating volume. A thin nylon "shroud" prevents radioactive contamination from entering the center-most volume of the detector. The main Borexino experiment has been taking data since 2007.

    Credit: Borexino Collaboration

  • Sanford Experimental Hall

    Sanford Underground Laboratory

    An experiment hall nearly one mile underground at Sanford Underground Laboratory, being refurbished for the LUX and LZ experiments. Great depths are required to reduce background radiation from cosmic rays and make sensitive neutrino and dark matter searches possible.

  • g-2 magnet

    A Magnet Goes to Fermilab.

    The 50-foot diameter magnet racetrack as it started its 3200-mile journey from Brookhaven New York to Fermilab in Illinois, where it was eventually installed in the Muon g-2 experiment. A UMass team led by Prof. David Kawall has taken on the challenging responsibility of measuring and calibrating the magnetic field for the experiment. Read more at FNAL news and APS news. (Photo credit: Fermilab)

  • Atlas cutaway

    A Slice of Atlas Detector

    A cut-away view of the ATLAS detector.  The magnetic toroid for the muon system, which is a focus of the UMass Atlas team, is displayed in gray.

  • g-2 at FNAL

    Muon g-2 Anomaly

    The Muon g-2 experiment in its home at Fermilab, run by a collaboration of 7 countries and 35 institutions, including UMass. The experiment recently published the most precise measurement to date of the muon magnetic moment. The result hints at a discrepancy with the Standard Model of particle physics. Find out more more at UMass News, YouTube, and the New York Times. (Photo credit: Fermilab)

Department of Physics at UMass Amherst

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events to display at this time.

Department News

Physics Spotlight

Congratulations to Physics Grad Students on DOE Fellowship Awards!!

This spotlight highlights Physics most recent DOE Fellowship awardees, David Kessler and Tristan Winick, both of whom are graduate students within the department. They were chosen to not only introduce them to the physics community, but also to showcase their achievements and congratulate them on their awards!

David Kessler & Tristan Winick