Experimental High Energy Physics on ATLAS

Candidate Higgs boson decay to four muons
Candidate Higgs boson decay to four muons (2012 data)

The ATLAS group at the University of Massachusetts Amherst studies proton-proton collisions at the highest energies yet achieved in the laboratory at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland, in hopes of finding new fundamental particles and interactions. The group consists of five faculty, three research scientists, five postdoctoral research associates, and approximately ten graduate students.

Group Members

Dale Abbott

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 dabbott@umass.edu
Benjamin Brau

Associate Professor

LGRT 1040 413-545-0620 bbrau@physics.umass.edu
Jackson Burzynski

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 jburzynski@umass.edu
Yuan-Tang Chou

Graduate Student

CERN ychou@umass.edu
Rafael Coelho Lopes de Sa
Rafael Coelho Lopes de Sa

Assistant Professor

LGRT-1034 (Lab - PSB 062) 413-545-0993 rclsa@umass.edu
Thiago Costa de Paiva

Engineer

LGRT 932 tcpaiva@umass.edu
Carlo Dallapiccola

Professor

LGRT 1038 413-545-0994 carlod@physics.umass.edu
Tiago dos Santos Ramos

Research Scientist

PSB W219 tdossantosra@umass.edu
Samyukta Krishnamurthy

Graduate Student

LGRT 1129 skrishnamurt@umass.edu
Margaret Lutz

Graduate Student

CERN mlutz@physics.umass.edu
Verena Martinez Outschoorn
Verena Martinez Outschoorn

Assistant Professor

LGRT 1032 413-545-2444 vimartin@umass.edu
Zachary Meadows

Graduate Student

zmeadows@physics.umass.edu
Edward Moyse

Postdoctoral Research Associate

CERN edward.moyse@cern.ch
Nora Pattersson

Postdoctoral Research Associate

CERN nora.pettersson@cern.ch
Attilio Picazio

Postdoctoral Research Associate

CERN attilio.picazio@cern.ch
Guy Rosin

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 grosin@umass.edu
Jay Sandesara

Graduate Student

LGRT 1129 jsandesara@umass.edu
Makayla Vessella

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 mvessella@umass.edu
Cooper Wagner

Graduate Student

LGRT 1130 cpwagner@umass.edu
Stephane Willocq

Professor

LGRT-1042 413-545-0525 willocq@physics.umass.edu

For more information, visit the Experimental High Energy Physics on ATLAS group website.

Scientists & Engineers

Thiago Costa de Paiva
Tiago dos Santos Ramos
Edward Moyse
Nora Pattersson
Attilio Picazio

Students

Dale Abbott
Jackson Burzynski
Yuan-Tang Chou
Samyukta Krishnamurthy
Margaret Lutz
Zachary Meadows
Guy Rosin
Jay Sandesara
Makayla Vessella
Cooper Wagner