Experimental Nuclear Physics

Layout of the High Resolution Spectrometers in Hall A at Jefferson Laboratory used for parity violation experiments.
Layout of the High Resolution Spectrometers in Hall A at Jefferson Laboratory used for parity violation experiments.

The experimental nuclear physics group at the University of Massachusetts Amherst studies a variety of fundamental questions and performs precision measurements to advance our understanding of the origins of matter, the nature of fundamental forces, and the mechanisms by which the building blocks of matter (quarks and leptons) form protons, neutrons and eventually nuclei and atoms.

Group Members

Jason Bane

Postdoctoral Research Associate

PSB W220 jasonbane@umass.edu
Cameron Clarke

Graduate Student (NENS) Stony Brook

PSB W219 csclarke@umass.edu
David Flay

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Fermilab 413-545-0586 flay@umass.edu
David Kawall

Professor

PSB W105 (Lab - PSB 031) 413-545-2019 kawall@physics.umass.edu
Aditya Kulkarni

Graduate Student

abkulkarni@umass.edu
Krishna Kumar

Distinguished Gluckstern Professor

PSB W104 413-545-0763 kkumar@physics.umass.edu
Hanjie Liu

Postdoctoral Research Associate

PSB W219 hanjieliu@umass.edu
Rory Miskimen

Professor

PSB W108 413-545-2480 miskimen@physics.umass.edu
Andrea Pocar

Assistant Professor & Assistant Director, Amherst Center for Fundamental Interactions

PSB W110 (Office), PSB 021 (Lab) 413-545-2011 pocar@physics.umass.edu
Ali Rajabi

Graduate Student

LGRT 344 arajabi@physics.umass.edu

For more information, visit the Experimental Nuclear Physics group website.

Scientists & Engineers

Jason Bane
David Flay
Hanjie Liu

Students

Aditya Kulkarni
Ali Rajabi

Visitors

Cameron Clarke