Experimental Nuclear Physics

Layout of the High Resolution Spectrometers in Hall A at Jefferson Laboratory used for parity violation experiments.
Layout of the High Resolution Spectrometers in Hall A at Jefferson Laboratory used for parity violation experiments.

The experimental nuclear physics group at the University of Massachusetts Amherst studies a variety of fundamental questions and performs precision measurements to advance our understanding of the origins of matter, the nature of fundamental forces, and the mechanisms by which the building blocks of matter (quarks and leptons) form protons, neutrons and eventually nuclei and atoms.

Group Members

David Flay

postdoctoral Research Associate

Fermilab 413-545-0586 flay@umass.edu
David Kawall

Professor

PSB W105 (Lab - PSB 031) 413-545-2019 kawall@physics.umass.edu
Krishna Kumar

Distinguished Gluckstern Professor

PSB W104 413-545-0763 kkumar@physics.umass.edu
Rory Miskimen

Professor

PSB W108 413-545-2480 miskimen@physics.umass.edu
Gerald Peterson

Professor Emeritus

LGRT 417 413-545-2008 peterson@physics.umass.edu
Andrea Pocar

Assistant Professor & Assistant Director, Amherst Center for Fundamental Interactions

PSB W110 (Office), PSB 021 (Lab) 413-545-2011 pocar@physics.umass.edu
Ali Rajabi

Graduate Student

LGRT 344 arajabi@physics.umass.edu

For more information, visit the Experimental Nuclear Physics group website.

Group Members

Faculty

Scientists & Engineers

David Flay

Students

Ali Rajabi