People

The CBP consists of faculty, research staff, visitors, and students at UMass Amherst. It has collaborators across campus and in the Five College region of Western Massachusetts. Affiliated faculty serve on the Executive Committee and the Steering Committee.

Ashley R. Carter

Assistant Professor

Department of Physics and Astronomy, Amherst College

Folding of DNA during spermatogenesis using particle tracking and optical tweezers; particle tracking inside of the cell to study cytoskeleton formation.

Merrill Science Center Room 118 (413) 542-2593 acarter@amherst.edu
Jianhan Chen

Professor

Chemistry and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Development of advanced computational methods and their applications to the study of biomolecules and biomaterials.

Life Science Laboratories Room S585B (413) 545-3386 jianhanc@umass.edu
Min Chen

Assistant Professor

Chemistry Department

Folding, assembly, dynamics and functional mechanism of pore-forming membrane proteins, and their applications in biotechnology.

LGRT Room 865 (413) 545-0683 mchen1@chem.umass.edu
Maria Corradini

Assistant Professor

Department of Food Science

Luminescence Spectroscopy, Physical properties, Non linear Kinetics, Biophysics of Digestion, Predictive Microbiology, Food Security.

Chenoweth Laboratory Room 246 (413) 545-1025 mcorradini@umass.edu
Photo of Anthony Dinsmore
Anthony Dinsmore

Professor

Physics Department

The role of membrane tension, morphology, and composition in guiding the binding and activity of proteins relevant to cell trafficking and communication.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 404 (413) 545-3786 dinsmore@physics.umass.edu
Megan Dobro

Assistant Professor

School of Natural Science, Hampshire College

Electron cryotomography of protein machines in cells and HIV from a biological and social context.

204 Cole Science Center 413 559-5541 mjdNS@hampshire.edu
Paul Dubin

Research Professor

Chemistry Department

Inter-macroionic association and phase separation in polyelectrolyte, protein and surfactant systems.

Goessmann 133 (413) 577-4167 dubin@chem.umass.edu
Anne Gershenson

Research Associate Professor

Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Protein folding from simulations to test tubes to cells, and how peripheral membrane enzymes recognize and search cell membranes.

Life Science Laboratories Room N333 (413) 545-1250 gershenson@biochem.umass.edu
Lila M. Gierasch

Distinguished Professor

Departments of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Chemistry

Protein folding in the cell and molecular mechanisms of Hsp70 chaperones.

Life Sciences Laboratories Room N331 413-545-6094 gierasch@biochem.umass.edu
Photo of Lori S. Goldner
Lori S. Goldner

Professor and CBP Director

Physics Department

Single-molecule-sensitive biophysics with an emphasis on molecular mechanics and interactions in confining and complex environments.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 407A (413) 545-0594 lgoldner@physics.umass.edu
Barry Goodell

Professor

Microbiology

Redox-cycling mechanisms and oxygen radical generation in systems that impact both humans and the environment.

Morrill IV North Room 220 (559) 426-6620 bgoodell@umass.edu
Alejandro Heuck

Associate Professor

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The study of protein structure, protein-membrane and protein-protein interactions using a variety of biophysical, biochemical, and molecular biological approaches.

LGRT 1228 413 545-2497 heuck@biochem.umass.edu
Geng-Lin Li

Assistant Professor

Biology Department

Expanding our understanding of hearing and measuring the biophysical properties of hair cells using electrophysiological tools and imaging techniques.

Morrill II Room 418B (413) 545-6044 genglin@bio.umass.edu
Craig T. Martin

Professor

Chemistry

Structure and fundamental mechanisms in transcription; RNA folding.

LGRT Room 862 (413) 545-3299 cmartin@chem.umass.edu
Photo of Murugappan Muthukumar
Murugappan Muthukumar

Professor

Polymer Science and Engineering Department

Understanding how macromolecules, both biological and synthetic, assume their sizes and shapes, organize into assemblies, and move around in crowded environments.

Conte Research Center Room A212 (413) 577-1212 muthu@polysci.umass.edu
Photo of V. Adrian Parsegian
V. Adrian Parsegian

Professor Emeritus and Past CBP Director

Physics Department

Theory and measurement of intermolecular forces organizing soft matter.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 301 (413) 545-1299 parsegian@physics.umass.edu
Sarah Perry

Assistant Professor

Chemical Engineering Department

Utilizing self-assembly, molecular design, and microfluidic technologies to generate biomimetic microenvironments that enable the study and implementation of biomolecules to address real-world challenges.

Life Sciences Laboratory Room N265 (413) 545-6252 perrys@engin.umass.edu
Shelly R. Peyton

Assistant Professor

Department of Chemical Engineering

Cancer metastasis, cell biomechanics and bioengineering.

Life Sciences Laboratories Room N531 413-545-1133 speyton@ecs.umass.edu
Photo of Rudolf Podgornik
Rudolf Podgornik

Visiting Professor

Physics Department

Theoretical investigations of biological macromolecules and assemblies.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 306 podgornik@physics.umass.edu
Photo of Jennifer Ross
Jennifer Ross

Associate Professor

Physics Department

Microtubule Biophysics: Intracellular organization and non-equilibrium physics.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 302 (413) 545-2399 rossj@physics.umass.edu
Chris Santangelo

Associate Professor

Physics

Shapes of tissues and bacteria.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 405B (413) 545-2099 csantang@physics.umass.edu
Eric R. Strieter

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

To understand, on a molecular level, how the small protein ubiquitin controls the dynamics of biochemical pathways to maintain normal cellular function.

LGRT Room 745D (413) 545-2937 estrieter@umass.edu
Yubing Sun

Assistant Professor

Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Biophysical regulation of stem cell fate, developmental biomechanics, mechanotransduction, BioMEMS, and tissue engineering.

Engineering Lab Room 317 (413) 545-4543 ybsun@umass.edu
Lynmarie K. Thompson

Professor

Chemistry Department

Mechanisms of transmembrane signaling and transport by membrane proteins, including bacterial chemotaxis receptors and ABC transporters.

LGRT B Room 864 (413) 545-0827 thompson@chem.umass.edu
Photo of Mark Tuominen
Mark Tuominen

Professor

Physics Department

Electronic transport through bacterial pili and biofilms, and microbial fuel cells.

Hasbrouck Lab Room 402 (413) 545-1944 tuominen@physics.umass.edu
Photo of Patricia Wadsworth
Patricia Wadsworth

Professor

Biology Department

Assembly of the mammalian mitotic spindle. Current projects examine regulation of mitotic motor proteins by the microtubule associated protein, TPX2, using live cells and in vitro TIRF assays.

Morrill IV South Room 458 (413) 545-4877 patw@bio.umass.edu
Mingxu You

Assistant Professor

Chemistry Department

DNA/RNA folding and conformational change inside the cell, and cell membrane lipid interactions.

LGRT Room 867 (413) 545-4711 mingxuyou@chem.umass.edu